TTU Home Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library Home Sowell Collection

Conference on the Sowell Collection
April 20-22, 2017
Barry Lopez - Stephen Graham Jones - Barbara Ras

Toni Jensen - Christian Knoeller

Preliminary Conference Schedule now available.

Conference on the Sowell Collection

The Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library of Texas Tech University is once again celebrating the Sowell Collection.  All events are free and open to the public.  Panel and paper proposals accepted until March 15, 2017.

Created through the generous support of former Texas Tech University Regent James Sowell, the Sowell Collection contains the personal papers of some of the most prominent writers on the natural world.  Writers of the Sowell Collection include Rick Bass, Max Crawford, David James Duncan, Gretel Ehrlich, Clyde Jones, William Kittredge, John Lane, Barry Lopez, Walter McDonald, Bill McKibben, Susan Brind Morrow, Gary Paul Nabhan, Doug Peacock, Robert Michael Pyle, David Quammen, Marc Reisner, Pattiann Rogers, Sandra Scofield, Annick Smith, and Ro Wauer.  Newly added (though unprocessed) collections include those of writer Paul Hawken, additional papers from Doug and Andrea Peacock, and papers from The Orion Society.


If you have any questions, please contact Dr. Diane Warner (