TTU Home Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library Home Sowell Collection

Max Crawford

Max Crawford



Max Crawford was a writer born and raised around Blanco Canyon, near Mount Blanco, Texas. He studied at the University of Texas and at Stanford University, where he held a writing fellowship under Wallace Stegner. He traveled widely after leaving Texas, living in California, Mexico, and France. He resided in Livingston, Montana until his death in May 2010. Many of his novels are set in West Texas, such as Lords of the Plain and The Backslider. Others, such as The Bad Communist, are set in California. His early novels were published by major New York City publishers, but many of his later works were self-published. The University of Oklahoma Press began publishing his work around 2002, both new and previously published titles. Crawford also published poems and wrote for literary publications.

About the collection: Papers, 1960-2000 contains the author’s literary production in the form of holographic manuscripts, research materials, galley proofs, notes, and correspondence to and from publishers. The collection also contains correspondence from other writers, friends and family members, photographs, unpublished stories and fragments, and small literary journals. Literary records include daily activities, expenditures, and correspondence while Mr. Crawford lived in France and Livingston, Montana and other places.

  • Crawford, Max. Eastertown. Norman: U of Oklahoma P, 2003.
  • Crawford, Max. Wamba. Norman: U of Oklahoma P, 2002.
  • Crawford, Max. Wing Shot: A Novel. Livingston, MT: Crawford, 2001.
  • Crawford, Max. Highschoolharry&co. Livingston, MT: Crawford, 2000.
  • Crawford, Max. The Red & the White. Livingston, MT: Crawford, 1996.
  • Crawford, Max. Can’t Dance. New York: Atheneum, 1989.
  • Crawford, Max. Icarus. New York: Atheneum, 1988.
  • Crawford, Max. Six Key Cut. New York: Atheneum, 1986.
  • Crawford, Max. Lords of the Plain. New York: Atheneum, 1985.
  • Crawford, Max. The Bad Communist. New York: Harcourt, Brace, Jovanovich, 1979.
  • Crawford, Max. The Backslider. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1976.
  • Crawford, Max. Waltz Across Texas. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1975.
  • Last updated: July 9, 2021