TTU Home Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library Home Sowell Collection

Sandra Scofield

Sandra Scofield

TARO Finding Aid


Sandra Scofield was born in Wichita Falls, attended schools there and in Ft. Worth and Odessa, before enrolling at University of Texas-Austin. Even though she lived in Oregon for almost thirty years, many of her novels are set in West Texas. Although she said she would not call herself a feminist writer, Scofield acknowledges that her work deals with women and their families and often explores both the stresses and resiliency of families dealing with geographic and emotional separation. Scofield occasionally teaches writing at workshops across the country and these experiences teaching aspiring writers led to her newest book, The Scene Book (Penguin 2007), which she calls a primer for people wanting to learn how to write fiction. She received a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in 1991, the same year her second novel, Beyond Deserving, was a finalist for the National Book Award. The novel, A Chance to See Egypt, received the Best Fiction award from the Texas Institute of Letters in 1997. Her most recent publication, Occasions of Sin: A Memoir, was praised by Art Winslow of the Chicago Tribune for "its groping sense of honesty and its plain-spoken, understated pain."

  • Scofield, Sandra. The Scene Book: A Primer for the Fiction Writer. New York: Penguin, 2007.
  • Scofield, Sandra. Occasions of Sin: A Memior. New York: Norton, 2004.
  • Scofield, Sandra. Plain Seeing. New York: Cliff Street, 1997.
  • Scofield, Sandra. A Chance to See Egypt. New York: HarperCollins, 1996.
  • Scofield, Sandra. Opal on Dry Ground. New York: Villard, 1994.
  • Scofield, Sandra. More than Allies. Sag Harbord: Permanent, 1993.
  • Scofield, Sandra. Walking Dunes. Sag Harbord: Permanent, 1992.
  • Scofield, Sandra. Beyond Deserving. Sag Harbor: Permanent, 1991.
  • Scofield, Sandra. Gringa. Sag Harbor: Permanent, 1989.

Updated: July 9, 2021